Península Valdés is located on the northeast edge of the Chubut Province, Argentine Republic (42° 05’ and 42° 53’ SL 63° 35’ and 65° 04’ WL). This prominent geographic feature similar to an island of about 3,600 km2 is linked to the mainland by a narrow strip of land called Carlos Ameghino, an isthmus which splits the waters of the two gulfs bordering the peninsula.

Península Valdés is a Nature Reserve and is host every year and at different times to southern right whales, sea lions, elephant seals, penguins, orcas [killer whales], dolphins and seabirds -being this land also home to guanacos, Darwin’s rheas, Patagonian cavies, foxes and other inland species. In 1999, Península Valdés has been listed as a World Heritage Site by the UNESCO for its global importance in the conservation of marine mammals.

South of the peninsula lies its only settlement, Puerto Pirámides, a small tourist village built on the coasts of the Golfo Nuevo and which constitutes the only place where authorities enable whale watching tours aboard. You will be most welcome at our Boarding Station located at Av. De las Ballenas and 1ra. Bajada, Puerto Pirámides.

Aside from the wide range of activities available for all ages to be enjoyed by the family, Península Valdés is also suit to daring travelers in search of adventure.

“In calling up images of the past, I find that the plains of Patagonia frequently cross before my eyes; yet these plains are pronounced by all wretched and useless... Why, then, and the case is not peculiar to myself, have these arid wastes taken so firm a hold on my memory?... All was stillness and desolation. Yet in passing over these scenes, without one bright object near, an ill-defined but strong sense of pleasure is vividly excited.”

Charles Darwin, "The Voyage of the Beagle", 1839.

Apart from visiting Península Valdés, we suggest:

For additional information:
>Calendario Fauna
Mapa (Archivo PDF)